Kenkamken Care Coordination 

A little more than a year ago I started a new journey. Slowly at first. Unsure if this new path was what I wanted.

I did research, I had a friend /mentor encouraging me to step forward. Then in February of this year I was injured at work and stuck at home unable to work for 13 weeks. Having hyper extended my elbow and injured my neck and shoulder there wasn’t a whole lot I could do.

I did some more research. Talked to the State of Alaska. Took a few webinars. Then dove in and requested to take the test to become a Certified Care Coordinator. 

I passed my first test but then had to complete the rest of the process. During this time my mentors plan to open her own care coordination agency and hire me didn’t work due to the insanely high cost of workers comp insurance.

So she came up with plan B. Which was to help me with the massive amounts of paperwork to start my own agency. After much discussion I agreed.

Hundreds of pages of paper later, policies and procedures, forms, regulations, licenses, etc….etc…etc….

I completed my application. I sent it to the State. I waited….and waited. I contacted them to see what was going on. They responded that there was a backlog, I shouldn’t expect a response until possibly around Christmas.

Oh backtracking a bit. After I finished teaching summer camp I resigned my teaching position stating I would not return in the fall. I’d been saving and budgeted to make it through November.

Now here it was the beginning of November and they’re telling me this might not happen until the end of the year. My resources were dwindling, I was trying not to panic.

I received an email from the state saying I needed to fix eight of my policies and submit proof of background checks for myself and backup care coordinator. That was another step I had to take was getting authorized to perform background checks.

I’ll admit I procrastinated a bit then. Things were going on at home, I was fighting a touch of depression and seeing this list of things I needed to address was overwhelming. I made an appointment with a counselor and found out I was being to hard on myself. I needed to just take a step at a time. 

So with a plan made and after a necessary trip into Anchorage because my car had been recalled. I went back and looked at the letter with the list of necessary policy requirements.

I researched each one, read statues and wrote/rewrote the needed policies. Attached them and the back ground check info to an email and pressed send.

I posted on Facebook that I’d done it and now just had to sit and hurry up and wait. I expected the wait to be 30 or more days. I was determined not to stew about  it. 

It was like 15 minutes after I hit the send button that I received an email from the State saying NOT ONLY  was I now a Certified Care Coordinator BUT ALSO my agency was certified too!!! 

I was completely overwhelmed with emotion. I cried for half an hour because I was so happy and relieved. I DID it!!!

So now I’d like to take the time to….without further ado….introduce:

~~~~insert Applause here~~~~

If all goes as planned I will now spend my life….my job….helping families like mine. Assisting special needs children and families, Children with complex medical conditions, adults with disabilities, elders and assisted living.

My job will be advocating!!! Helping !!!! Does it get any better ??? Plus I’m my own boss and will be able to be here for my girls more!

Life. Is. Awesome.

Now I just need to get some clients and get to helping !!!!

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
This entry was posted in autism, disability, family, health, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kenkamken Care Coordination 

  1. How wonderful! Congratulations, Ann! You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

