Adventures in Lunchdome day 54 Including how you too can have Lunchdome adventures…also….too

Well now, I’ve been getting some questions/comments about how much work I put into mine and my girls lunches.  So I thought I’d let y’all in on a little secret….they really are not that hard.  Here’s a kinda sorta step by step of tomorrows lunches (day 54)….

First we start out with our dinner tonight which was bit size pieces of pork steak dredged in seasoned flour and sauted in a touch of veg. oil  Then when it was all crispy I poured a quarter cup (give or take) of World Harbor's Island Mango Marinade over it and tossed to coat.  Viola... Tropical Mango Pork

First we start out with our dinner tonight which was bit size pieces of pork steak dredged in seasoned flour and sauted in a touch of veg. oil Then when it was all crispy I poured a quarter cup (give or take) of World Harbor’s Island Mango Marinade over it and tossed to coat. Viola… Tropical Mango Pork

the rice cooker was bubbling away full to the brim with rice

the rice cooker was bubbling away full to the brim with rice and mixed veggies were on the stove to simmer.  I’d made some fresh rolls earlier with some Rhodes bread dough I had found in the freezer when I was reorganzing/cleaning it out this morning. 

Next we set the scene... dinner plates and tomorrows lunch containers.  Everyone gets a fresh roll on their plate/container.

Next we set the scene… dinner plates and tomorrows lunch containers. Everyone gets a fresh roll on their plate/container.

Then I serve everything up.  I put the meat for the lunches into the little bowls and rice into other little bowls that will act as rice molds while the rice cools while we eat dinner.

Then I serve everything up. I put the meat for the lunches into the little bowls and rice into other little bowls that will act as rice molds while the rice cools while we eat dinner.

unmold the rice, add a cupcake liner to hold the bread and another for cookies for dessert

unmold the rice, add a cupcake liner to hold the bread and another for cookies for dessert

After dinner I start to arrange everything

Now it’s time to add some fruit.  My girls love fruit kebobs so out come the grapes, pineapple chunks, toothpicks and an apple and marshmallows (not pictured)

I prep the fruit.... Cut up the apple and put it in a bowl and pour some of the juice from the pineapple over it and toss.  This keeps the apple chunks from browning.  Then I put the pineapple chunks on a paper towel to drain, cut the grapes in half and get the marshmallows ready.

I prep the fruit…. Cut up the apple and put it in a bowl and pour some of the juice from the pineapple over it and toss. This keeps the apple chunks from browning. Then I put the pineapple chunks on a paper towel to drain, cut the grapes in half and get the marshmallows ready.

Then I assemble the kebob.  Have fun with these.  Had I realized before I cut/opened everything I would've thrown in something a little more colorful but...oh well

Then I assemble the kebob. Have fun with these. Had I realized before I cut/opened everything I would’ve thrown in something a little more colorful but…oh well

 

the kebobs go into the lunches, I add some craisins.  Take a marker and write a special message on the container of mixed veggies and using some craisins and a chunk of carrot from the mixed veggies I put a smiley on the rice.

the kebobs go into the lunches, I add some craisins. Take a marker and write a special message on the container of mixed veggies and using some craisins and a chunk of carrot from the mixed veggies I put a smiley on the rice.

And we're all done

And we’re all done

Of course I don't have all the extras in my lunch :-D

Of course I don’t have all the extras in my lunch 😀

lunches are all ready  BUT we're not done yet.  I put them in the fridge and then.....

lunches are all ready BUT we’re not done yet. I put them in the fridge and then…..

put the rest of the rice into little bowls/molds and also the meat and...

put the rest of the rice into little bowls/molds and also the meat and…

put them into the freezer.  I covered the meat and it will stay until I need it but once the rice has set/frozen I'll pop it out of the bowls and toss them into a gallon ziploc for quick easy access for future lunches.

put them into the freezer. I covered the meat and it will stay until I need it but once the rice has set/frozen I’ll pop it out of the bowls and toss them into a gallon ziploc for quick easy access for future lunches.

 

the leftover fruit went into the bowl with the apple chunks and covered into the fridge to eat tomorrow.

the leftover fruit went into the bowl with the apple chunks and covered into the fridge to eat tomorrow.

And that’s it!  Lunch is done plus we didn’t waste any food and we have rice and meat leftover in the freezer all ready to be put into lunches for nights that I don’t have leftovers or didn’t feel like cooking 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
This entry was posted in autism, cooking, family, food, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

