Karma full circle….

contented sigh….awwwwww  (Christmas tunes playing softly in the back ground…)

Well it’s Saturday evening.  The girls are asleep all snuggled in their beds after a day spent shopping and decorating our Christmas tree.  We all awoke very early as we’re adjusting to my new work schedule during the week so even on the weekends we’re waking up early I guess. 😦  But I took advantage of being up so early this morning and hauled the girls out grocery shopping before 9 a.m.  Come to find that that is the best time to go because the store was deserted.  We filled our cupboards, fridge, pantry and freezer up.

I still find great satisfaction and security in the knowledge that my family is well stocked with food.  I would imagine that anyone who has gone with out or with very little at any point in their lives takes comfort in their food security in the future.  After the winter of ’08/’09 and having the food drive I take great pride and pleasure in seeing my freezer and cupboards full.

This past three years since Segundo died so suddenly have been anything BUT easy.  I feel like I’ve been clawing out our existences, fighting for our futures and while making a lot of forward motion in a way kind of stuck.  I wasn’t where I wanted to be.  It’s been as if I were tossed about upon a tumultuous sea since Segundo died in my arms.  I’ve been trying to keep this raft of our life afloat hoping someday to have a bigger more stable “boat” if you will.  But it turns out that it wasn’t a boat that I guess I needed.  I, in fact, needed to reach the other side of this stormy sea.

I feel as if this week I have, indeed, arrived!  Things are falling into place, no that’s not true.  I’ve worked my butt off to make a better life for us to reach this next chapter in this thing called life.  Turns out this chapters theme I believe is going to be “awesome”! I had shared with y’all a while back that I’d been hired by the local tribe for a temporary full time position.  Well four days into that job I was offered and accepted a full time permanent position within the Kenaitze Indian Tribe.

This new job is simply perfect.  I’ll be working at the Head Start as a Classroom and Family Support Liaison for their new class that will start next January.  Glenna will be in the class and if that isn’t wonderful enough the best part is that I’ll have the same holiday and vacation schedule as my girls because they follow the school districts schedule.  How cool is that??!!  Life is awesome!

I won’t pretend that everything will be smooth sailing from here on out but we definitely have our feet firmly planted in our future.  I’m ecstatic.  All those naysayers from years before who didn’t think I could make it on my own…. You know what??? I have and I’m making it on my own.   Not only are we making it, we’re flourishing!   You know what they say… The best revenge is living well.  Well we are definitely doing that.  It’s marvelous to see and experience the coming of…..

Karma full circle!!

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
This entry was posted in Ann Strongheart, autism, family, Happiness Daily, parenting, persistence, widowhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

