Happiness Saturday some catching up

Wow it seems like it’s been awhile since I actually did any writing.  Just been so caught up in life that finding time to sit down to write hasn’t happened.  I had mentioned before that I was going to do a part two to the “Busy Making Forward Motion” post  sigh… I started it but just haven’t been able to get it finished.  So I think I’ll just put some of the highlights here.

So I’d mentioned that we were waiting on Cece’s POC to be approved.  It has been approved and Cece now has a primary care provider who works with her 21 hours per week.  It’s been amazingly awesome.  At first I was quite ambivalent about having someone in our home doing what I thought were things that I should be teaching Cece as her mommy.  But after that very first hour of In-home support services I realized the error of my thinking.

Now Cece and her worker come back to the house after day habilitation Monday through Friday and they immediately start working on chores and practicing life skills.  I can actually cook dinner every week night without having to leave the kitchen every couple minutes to check to make sure Cece isn’t getting into mischief.  Now I know that she’s safe and well supervised plus learning too.

We were also approved to receive childcare assistance.  Glenna now attends preschool two 1/2 days per week while I…. Guess what I’ve been doing…..hmm… Did you guess?  Well let me see Cece’s primary care provider works with her in the mornings before school in our home, then either puts her on the bus to school or takes her to her  OT/PT/Speech therapy appointments, then she picks her up from school and takes her out into the community to work on her social skills for a couple hours then brings her home at 5 p.m. to again do life skills work and chores until 6 p.m.  So now that I’m not having to run Cece all over to her appts nor meet buses I am….do you have any idea yet?

I am looking for a job!!  Woo hoo!!  We receive 80 hours of seek work child care assistance that covers most of Gege’s preschool/daycare expenses.  I’ve been filling out applications, going to interviews, writing resumes, cover letters, etc like crazy trying to find a job.  I admit that I was getting a little frustrated because never in my life has it taken me this long to find a job but then again never in my life have I had to find a job that fits around the girl’s schedules either.  I’ve turned down a couple jobs b/c the hours/days just wouldn’t work.

I had to opportunity to be a cake decorator but turned that down yesterday b/c they wanted me to give up ALL/EVERY single weekend.  I just will not do that because that is my time with the girls.  Plus having to find childcare for weekends is not easy either.  So I am still trying to find a job.

Glenna absolutely loves preschool.  She only cried the first 2 times I left her.  Now she kisses me good bye and runs off to play with her new friends.  When I pick her up she is very excited and tells me “I had bun (fun), Mom!).  While there might be a chance that I won’t find a job before I use up all of the 80 hours of seek work childcare we’ve been given I am no longer worried.  I found out a few days ago that the tribes Head Start program is opening up another class that will now allow a child to enroll as soon as they turn 3 years old.  No longer will they have to meet a 3 years old by Sept. 1 cut off.

So that is supposed to start sometime between now and December which will be awesome!  Then Gege will get to go to Head Start free of charge freeing up more time for me to find some type of work.  I’m very excited!

Here are some captioned photos that pretty much sum up our weekends here lately.  Since winter is officially here we aren’t spending quite as much time outside but are still having all kinds of fun.  Hopefully I’ll have at least one other post this coming week other than “Adventures in Lunchdome” because it’s Halloween!!  Yeah!!  We’re doing homemade costumes this year and Gege’s is nearly done except her head wear and I’m 25% done with Cece’s and hope to finish it today or tomorrow.  So stay tuned for pictures of our Halloween fun!

For now enjoy these photos….

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
This entry was posted in Ann Strongheart, autism, Crafts, fun, parenting, single mom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happiness Saturday some catching up

  1. carol says:

    Dear Ann,

    I cheer your successes all around and stand in awe at the devoted love and care you give to Cecelia and Glenna.

    You are a lovely, caring, and inspirational woman.

    May the sunshine continue to bring you warmth, even when it is cold outside, and the moonshine bring you peace and calm, even when obscured (temporarily) by passing clouds.

    With love,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

