Listen in! I’ll be LIVE on the Radio to help the LeeShore Center Annual Radiothon!

It’s that time of year again!!  Time to pull out your wallets and give a well deserved donation to the LeeShore Center!  If y’all will recall the LeeShore Center is the DV Shelter that the girls and I stayed at for our first 5 months here in Kenai starting back in February of 2011.  Well this year I was asked if I would be a guest on the radiothon, of course I accepted.  So on Monday, September 10, 2012 at approximately 10 a.m. I will on the radio!!  ~~insert random applause here~~

It’s been a few years since I was last on the radio so this should be interesting but fun!  I look forward to sharing my journey through domestic violence.  I hope to not only bring awareness to this problem and raise funds for the LeeShore Center but also to hopefully touch women out there that are currently experiencing domestic violence.  I hope that maybe, just maybe, hearing my story will give someone the strength to break free of their abuser and realize that they are not trapped and to reach out and ask for help.

Please join me on Monday and help support the LeeShore Center!  Below is the press release for the event.  If you’d like to donate directly you can do so by CLICKING HERE which will take you directly to their Paypal donation page!  Please help us raise not only funds but awareness to Domestic Violence and the services available to everyone!  Quyana Cakneq in advance for your help!  Wish me luck on Monday!  (**nervous giggle** sigh…. :-D)

LeeShore Center bands with KSRM for 24th Radiothon

This year’s 24th Radiothon will be hosted Sept. 10. Radiothon has traditionally been LeeShore Center’s primary fundraiser. Cash and in-kind donations pledged during Radiothon support the agency’s services to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault and the agency’s community education and prevention programs.  LeeShore Center will be on-air from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

To make a pledge during Radiothon, call KSRM at 283-5811 or 283-5959 on Sept. 10, or you may mail your pledge to The LeeShore Center, 325 S. Spruce St, Kenai, AK  99611.

From Sept. 1–10 you may drop off donations to any of the following locations: Jumpin’ Junction, Stanley Ford in Kenai, Stanley Chrysler in Soldotna, or New Beginnings Fitness Center on the North Road or The Kenai Brown Bears Remote Teams will come to you.  For more information call 283-9479.

24-Hour Crisis Line
907-283-7257

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
This entry was posted in Ann Strongheart, Domestic Violence, DV Shelter, Fundraising, KSRM, LeeShore Center, Radiothon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listen in! I’ll be LIVE on the Radio to help the LeeShore Center Annual Radiothon!

  1. carol says:

    Dear Ann,

    Ever since I was privileged to “ride” on the snow machine with you and Segundo on your trips to get groceries and to “participate” in your work to help your community during that terrible winter when food and fuel were so scarce in Nunam Iqua, you have been a huge inspiration to me.

    I was sad to lose “touch” with you after Segundo passed on. I earnestly hoped that you had found a new life filled with happiness and the security that you and CeCe and GeGe so richly deserve. I was so sad to later learn that this time was anything but.

    Yet true to form, you have bounced back with amazing strength to do the incredibly hard work to overcome this adversity and to build a better life for yourself and your beautiful girls.

    And now, having done that, you are living in a new community, stepping up once again to share the benefit of your wisdom and personal experience to help other people. How lucky your new community is that you landed there! On occasion in my work, I encounter people suffering with DV. I tell them about you and your blog.

    It’s like a pebble tossed in still water. The ripples go out way farther than you can possibly know.

    With deepest respect and admiration,
    Carol

    • annstrongheart says:

      Carol,

      Quyana for the wonderful comment! Knowing that in some small way my words might reach out there and help another person is the main reason for my sharing my experiences. For I believe that it is important to leave this world better than that in which we found it. The things one acquires during ones live have little meaning more importantly it is the love and compassion for others that we leave behind that are the true treasures in life. The help and support one can offer another does in fact cause great ripples that spread far and wide. We are blessed that with the internet these ripples can circle the earth. The impact and strength of our words are now so far reaching. If my words can help another be them my children, my family, my friends, or a perfect stranger then they were well shared.

      Quyana again for the wonderful comment. I look forward to hearing more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

