Whew….a minute to write

Well I probably should entitle this post… I am sitting here writing when in fact I should be sleeping!  It’s midnight and I am yawning but realized that it’s been a very long time since I’ve posted anything.  So much for my theory that I’d have more time to write this year!!

I’ve just been so unbelievably busy.  Between keeping up with two little girls, appointments, and beadwork orders every day is just full.  The girls are growing and learning at an amazing rate.  The language skills they are both developing…WOW!!  Cece speaks in sentences now.  She has a sense of humor, interacts with her peers and others.  She is staying on task longer, following direction and asserting herself and her independence!

Glenna and Cece playing boat in a tote in the living room!

Glenna is just astounding me.  It seems like she learns/does something new every single day.  Today we took Cece to her speech and occupational therapy appointments.  When Cece went in for her appointment Glenna turns to me and said “Come on Mom, go have breakfast please?” I wasn’t understanding the word breakfast and had to have her repeat the sentence a couple of times but finally got it when she added ” Go see L**, please?”  L** is the waitress at this little family restaurant that Glenna and I were going to weekly last year before winter for mother/daughter special treat time while Cece was in therapy.  Then tonight she walked down the stairs…WALKED!!  She didn’t crawl down backwards feet first oh nooo she walked down upright facing forward with me trying not to panic behind her.

Glenna jumping off the couch! (When we moved here last year she wasn’t even walking yet!)

I look back and reflect over this past year, a year that has had many battles, many victories and so much change.  Remember we moved here to Kenai on Feb. 10, 2011.  We’ve been here a year now.  So much hard work.  So much….so much…. A year ago we didn’t have a home, a school, therapies, special doctors, care coordinators, respite workers, etc, etc, etc.  We flew into Kenai with 4 duffle bags and a stroller. Two little girls and I all by ourselves, determined to make a new life.

Look my smiling girl is back and I can catch her smiles on camera! Those smiles were hard to catch this past 2 years!

We now have our own home.  Cece is receiving tons of services if you count her special ed preschool days, therapies, respite, and dayhab Cece has 60+ activities/appointments a month!  In King Salmon she had eight and back on the Yukon I am guessing that she’d have even less than that.

Cece helping me make dinner. This past week she’s started helping me prepare all of our meals. A couple months ago she was scared to try.

Cece has worked so hard and grown so much that after her last parent teacher conference with her SPED preschool teacher I came home and balled.  I cried off and on for the rest of the day.  Do you know why I cried?  I went into that meeting/conference fully expecting to hear that Cece would be in the SPED preschool next year.  There was no doubt in my mind!  But unbelievably her teacher is recommending that she attend KINDERGARTEN next year!!  YES you read it correctly….Cecelia is being recommended to attend KINDERGARTEN next school year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  It’s a structured smaller kindergarten class with only about a dozen students but it’s at the regular elementary school and she will attend some class time in a regular/larger kindergarten class too!!

Cece painting a bird house. She loves crafts! We do a lot of crafts/art at home.

Cecelia, according to her SPED teacher, has outgrown the preschool and needs to move on because if she were to attend again next year she wouldn’t be challenged because she would be too far AHEAD, yes AHEAD, of her peers skill levels.  ESPECIALLY communication!!!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO  Cece would be AHEAD!!!!  Yeah it still brings tears to my eyes!!!  A year ago who would’ve thought we’d be here now?  Who would’ve thought that Cece would be getting ready to transition to Kindergarten???  Cecelia is my amazing girl!!  I am soooo proud of her!!

Glenna loves the camera!

Glenna unfortunately will not be attending HeadStart next year 😦  her birthday fallS after the dead line/cut off.  But I am going to home preschool her because at the rate that she’s growing and learning right now I bet with a little bit of help and teaching at home that she can be starting to read by the end of this year!! Yep that’s right!  Not only have I been working with Cece on her skills and such and Glenna has been absorbing them like a sponge but also I am going to start pushing Glenna some too!! 😀  Glenna is already so far ahead with her speech!!  Cecelia’s SLP said that 2 year olds should be speaking in 3-4 word sentences with a vocabulary bigger than you can count.  Then she laughed b/c she says that Glenna is WAYYY ahead for her age.  Glenna is speaking in 5-9 word sentences now.  Although it does make me sad that she has stopped using most of her sign language, but who needs sign language when you can talk a million miles a minute? LOL

“No Mom, I PRINCESS GLENNA!!” She has been in a princess phase lately insisting that she’s a princess and plays dress up with tiara, skirt and princess shoes!

Life is good.  Our life is so good right now.  It’s surreal, it truly is!  After all the hardships, heartaches, and pain we’ve survived this past couple of years I can’t help but worry that something is going to happen b/c everything is just so wonderfully good right now!  But I am not going to jinx myself darnit!!! We will just keep moving onward and upward!!  Is it a crime to be this happy??

Signing off for now.  Hope to find more time to write in the future but I have two little girls to keep up with and so much beadwork to  make I don’t know that I’ll find time.  Plus (knock on wood) Spring is coming and hopefully we’ll be able to get out and about more!!!  I can’t wait to be able to go on our long walks again and not worry about snow, ice and cold!!  Be well everyone!!  I hope y’all are having as wonderful a 2012 thus far as we are!!!

~~~~~HAPPY DANCE~~~~~

Look MOM paint!!

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whew….a minute to write

  1. Fabulous news! So glad to hear how well you and both girls are doing. I remember when you were hoping that one day you would hear, “I love you, Mom,” and be able to carry on a conversation. Sounds as if that day will soon be here! Hugs to you all!

    • annstrongheart says:

      Thanks Lela! I don’t recall if I mentioned it here or if I only put it on facebook …. Cecelia spontaneously says “I Love You!”!! A few weeks ago she came home from school on the bus and when she was getting off the bus she said “Bye bye” to the driver. This is huge b/c the driver is male and Cece doesn’t usually even acknowledge a male let alone talk to them since Gundo died. So she said “bye, bye” then she came in the house and pretended to say “bye, bye” to all her stuffed animals. She was taking her winter gear off and I asked her how her day was and told her to come give me a hug. Cece ran over and threw her arms around me and said “I love you!” It was wonderful. Every day since that first day she will come up to me and say “I love you”. She had said it before but only after I said it first, so hearing her say it spontaneously now…..tears 😀

      Cece still cannot have an actual conversation but she expresses herself and can now ask for things and tell me some of her wants and needs. She’s learned pretend play and has been pretending to be a frog regularly this last couple weeks which makes our household the Disney story of the Princess and the Frog!! One of the great things is that Cece is starting stand up for herself. She doesn’t let Glenna bowl over her anymore and is even starting to boss her little sister around too.

      Life is good, my girls are amazing, I am happy 😀 now before this comment turns into a tome or I burst into tears I’ll sign off now 😉

Leave a Reply

