Finding time…

Well so much for having more time to write this year.  It’s been just busy here in the Strongheart household.  Between therapies, appointments, school, respite etc I just am too busy to find time to write.  In the evenings when I would normally take time to write I am now doing bead work.  I have been asked to supply one of the local stores with my beadwork and sewing for the next tourist season so I am beading like crazy 😀  Plus I have received several orders for my beadwork so I am working on those also.

What can I say…. Life is good!!!  Although it’s cold today!  We are currently at -22F at 1 p.m. this afternoon.  So we won’t be going outside to play in the foot of new snow we’ve got. But that’s okay we’re keeping ourselves occupied.  I would like to think that I might find more time to do some writing, in fact I might just have to actually schedule writing time but fear if I do that then I might get writers block during those time LOL  So we’ll see what happens.  I just wanted to check in and let y’all know what’s goin’ on.

The girls are doing great.  We all have slight colds right now but otherwise are well.  I feel like I have two 2 year olds going through the terrible terrific twos right now.  Both are becoming more independent, talkative, social, and very defiant too.  Glenna’s speech and ability to follow directions/listen is much farther developed than Cece’s but she’s setting a great example for Cece.  Cece  it seems is trying to keep up with her baby sister.  She has started copying everything she hears.  She sings a lot and is mastering pretend play.

The girls are learning to not only play/interact with each other but also to pick on each other and fight.  Atleast now Cece is learning to stand up for herself and not let baby sister run over her.  Now when Glenna tries to take something from her or hits her etc.  Cece hollers “HEY, HEY, HEY!! Don’t touch/hit/etc”  They are both learning how to push each others buttons and also make each other laugh.

Cecelia is having more and more spontaneous speech.  The other day she brought me to tears.  She had just gotten home from school.  She was saying bye bye to her bus driver and aide.  We came inside and she pretended to say bye bye to all her stuffed animals.  Then she was taking her winter gear off.  I asked her how her day was and told her to come give me a hug.  She rushed over and gave me a hug and said “I LOVE YOU!”  She’s never spontaneously said that before.  She’s copied me when I say it to her but she’s never spontaneously said it.  I was/am so happy!!!

At SPED preschool, therapy and other places Cece is learning to interact with other children.  Also she is getting better at following simple directions but has to be prompted a lot.  We checked in with Cece’s developmental doctor yesterday via Skype.  He has ordered a genetic test for Cece to test for Fragile X syndrome.  He is very pleased with her progress and put to rest my concerns about her mimicking everyone.  Hopefully we’ll have her blood drawn next week for the test and have the results by our next visit with him in February.

Glenna is doing wonderfully.  She’s a typical bossy, defiant, confident, talkative, loving, cute two year old!  Her speech amazes me.  She definitely is well above her peers as far as speech development is concerned.  Boy can she be bossy and defiant.  She bosses Cece around and tries to boss me around too.  When asked to do something she can be very stubborn and really knows how to use the word “NO”.  She is so inquisitive.  Always asking questions and making observations and telling me all about them.  Glenna loves Cece so much.  When Cece is at school or respite Glenna will get up from her nap and ask me “Mom, Where Cece go?”.  She watches for the bus to bring her big sis home and gets excited when she sees “M” (our respite provider) pull up bringing Cece home.

I feel so blessed to be able to watch my girls grow, to have such a better life now, to have such wonderful family, friends and supports, life is just amazing right now.  I’ll admit there was some depression around the holidays and having to celebrate them without Segundo but I can honestly say that’s it was the best Christmas I’ve had in probably 10 years!

Well Glenna is up from her nap and I need to get the girls both a snack so I’ll end this post with some miscellaneous pictures 😀

About annstrongheart

About me...hmmm where to start. I'm a proud single/widowed mom of two beautiful girls who currently works full time for the local Tribe. Life. Is. AWESOME!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding time…

  1. FEDUP!!! says:

    😀
    Good to hear/see all the progress reports! 😉
    Each little baby-step of CeCe is part of the bigger path she is destined to follow.

Leave a Reply

